Take This Blog And Shove It.

There comes a time in everyone’s life where you need to ‘man-up’ and face the music anddo things that arn’t necessarily pleasant. Well kids, this is one of those times, and I’ve manned up like you man up in Saudi Arabia when you’re about to take over Africa (Risk, btw, I’m talking about Risk.)

But this has nothing to do with the loveable(?) boardgame.

A few months ago, I woke up from 3 years in Asia with a headache, a new affinity for ipoh horfun, minuscule amounts of dignity and massive debt, so some tough calls had to be made. Which mainly involved moving back in with my dad (totally rad move btws, I recommend) and getting a summer job at the local powerplant as a labourer ( errr not as rad…)

My dad keeps telling me that it’s the kind of job where you “learn about yourself” and “build character.” But so far the only things I’ve learned is that I’m a stunner in an orange jumpsuit and how to drive a forklift (not covered in Business school oddly enough).

Note to self, never go to jail.

So basically this summer been’s major, Charlie Major.

psst for the longest time, I thought Charlie was doing it for me, which was weird since we never met, but I was cool with it since Charlie seemed pretty chill.

But come Friday (lay off day!), it’s all BTO baby.

This is my first (hopefully last) experience with the “counting down the hours at work until the end of the day” thing but at least I’m in good company – with the Ramones, Flaming Lips, Drive-By-Truckers, Dolly Parton and more… They’ve been there and back and wrote songs about it.  Check out the full Daily Grind Playlist here. 

And at least I don’t have to go back to school! (suckas!!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

