If Wordplay Is Foreplay, These Artists Have Me In Bed….

Back by popular demand – My favorite lyrics – VOLUME 2!!!

“Sorry I’m A Champion”

– Jay Z:  Lost Ones

The perfect retort when someone makes ridiculous requests or questions your outright genius. “Hey Marney, can you have this done by the end of the day?” “Hey Marney, maybe we should call it a night?” “Hey Marney, why are you drunk? At ll am? At work? Again?”

Sorry, I’m a champion.

Well that is that

And this is this

You tell me what you want

And I’ll tell you what you get

You get away from me

– Modest Mouse: Ocean Breathes Salty

This is the verse on repeat when someone is trying to propose a one-sided deal. “Hey I want you to do this work …for free?” “ Hey I want go out tonight so I can ditch you 5 min after we get to the bar to go ‘pick up bitches” “Hey let’s break up, but still be together so I can sleep with other people”

You know the type, they want this, they want that, they may even “would like” on a nice day. Here’s what they get – the hell away from me. The only parasite I keep around is the tapeworm in my intestine keeping my skinny….

“Life handed us a paycheck and we said “hey we worked harder than this!”

– Modest Mouse : Bury me With It

Lets all breathe a collective “word”. Unless you work for the government,  AIG or live in Narnia and are paid in hopes and dreams (or taxpayer dollars). You fuckers wouldn’t understand. Your probably reading this at work in between your shifts of checking facebook, staring out the window and collapsing the global economy.

“I want to grow up to be a debaser”
– Debaser The Pixies

Aim high my parents always told me. Even if you don’t reach “debaser” you’ll at least hit respectable “crackhead”. Ok they didn’t say the last sentance, I think they were more leaning towards “accountant” “lawyer” or “functioning alcoholic”. I’m 0/3 if your keeping score at home.

*ed note: I’m taking the drug reference on the term “debaser” as opposed to the Salvidor Dolli theme conspiracy.

*ed note: as well as the writer, Im the editor, rendering this ed note thing completely redundant, but I’m gonna keep going with it.

“And the answers always waiting at the liquor store…”

-Sublime: 40oz to freedom

Truer words have never been sung. How do you think this blog gets written?

“I do not need you to tell me that I’m not a cat”
– Modest Mouse: I came as a Rat

I don’t need to be reminded of the fact that I’m human on a daily basis… uh rain on my parade much. Ok whatever, so I like getting my hair played with (it feels good ok!).  Don’t judge me!

I’ll move to Paris, shoot some heroin, and fuck with the stars.

You man the island and the cocaine and the elegant cars.

-MGMT: Time To Pretend

If I had a nickel for everytime this has come out of my mouth, I’d buy ANOTHER island.…… Fuck Diego better be manning the island or there will be hell to pay once I get out of this French opiate induced haze of an orgy.

“Ground control to major tom”

-David Bowie: Space Oddity

I always sing this to people when they space out/I’m boring them with my psycho-babble. They never seem to get it though. They look at ME like I’M the crazy one.  C’mon now people.

I’m just waiting for the day when someone sings back to me “This is Major Tom to ground control, I’m stepping through the door. ……”, its gonna be a big day, I’ll probly tweet about it. Yeah it’ll be THAT big.

Well I’ve said my peace.

What are your favorite lyrics? And why? Spread your wisdom like Mel Gibson spreads hate below:

One response to “If Wordplay Is Foreplay, These Artists Have Me In Bed….

  1. i need something good to die for
    to make it beautiful to live
    Go With The Flow – Queens of the Stone Age

    words to live by?

Leave a Reply

